The Apper
iPhone App Reviewer

Exclusive Interview: Pangea Software

This is an exclusive interview, only available on this website. Do not post this article anywhere else on the internet without also stating that it belongs to both Brian Greenstone and The Apper.

 

Brian Greenstone is the founder of Pangea Software. His company is very well known for their Macintosh and iPhone games, along with other projects. A few of Pangea’s recent releases include Cro-Mag Rally, Enigmo, Bugdom 2 and PangeaVR.

 

 

 

How did you first get into software development?

Well, I was one of those kids in the late 70’s who used to hang out with my friends at the video arcades and pump $20 in quarters into Asteroids.  I really wanted to get an Apple II+, and once I did I was hooked and it all just went from there.  I upgraded to an Apple IIgs and then a Mac.  Out of college I got a job doing Super Nintendo games, and after that I got into Mac development which then led to iPhone development.

What do you like and dislike about you job?

I like the hours (since I make them up as I go), and I like the pay.  I also like knowing that I’ve made a lot of people happy over the years with the games that I’ve done.  But I dislike having to sit in front of a computer all day.

Of all the applications that you have developed, which do you think turned out best? Which turned out worst?

The best game I’ve ever done was Otto Matic.  Most people would say it was Bugdom, but Otto was really my favorite because I put so much thought into it.  The worst would probably be Weekend Warrior.  That game was the first 100% 3D game *ever*.  No sprites at all in that game – not even for the menus and credits.  It was all 3D.  But it was also a game before its time, so it kinda sucked.

Do you have any plans to make any more Macintosh games or apps?

Very unlikely.  There is much more money to be made doing iPhone apps, and the iPhone is so much more fun than developing for the Mac.

As a developer, what are your thoughts on the App Store’s current state?

Heh, the “state” seems to change daily, but overall it’s great.  There are obvious issues, but Apple seems to be fixing things as they go.  There’s a lot of competition right now to get into the Top 50 list because only the game in the Top 50 really do well.  There are so many apps, and it’s so hard to get yours seen unless it’s high on the popularity list.

Do you often find yourself using your own games and apps?

Generally when I’m done with a game I never look at it again because I’m so tired of it, but a year ago I did a utility called Bracketeer which I use all the time for my photo processing.

What will be your next release for the iPhone?

Currently working on Nanosaur 2 which should be done late this week if all goes well.  After that we’re going to look into doing Otto Matic.  After that we’ll be done with the ports and will focus on new games.

Lastly, what is your idea of a fun time?

Fun is being outdoors, as far away from a computer, TV, or telephone as I can get.

 

 

– James

2 Responses to “Exclusive Interview: Pangea Software”

  1. […] The Apper placed an interesting blog post on Exclusive Interview: Pangea SoftwareHere’s a brief overview Out of college I got a job doing Super Nintendo games, and after that I got into Mac development which then led to iPhone development….His company is very well known for their Macintosh and iPhone games, along with other projects….What will be your next release for the iPhone?… There is much more money to be made doing iPhone apps, and the iPhone is so much more fun than developing for the Mac…. […]

  2. Thanks for posting this. I’m looking forward to Otto Matic for iPhone!


Leave a Reply

