The Apper
iPhone App Reviewer

Exclusive Interview: Majic Jungle Software

Head Photo

 

We are lucky enough to have another exclusive interview, this time with David Frampton of Majic Jungle Software. Majic Jungle Software is responsible for great iPhone games such as Chopper and DuckDuckDuck. We previously reviewed Chopper and hope to write about his other apps soon. In this short interview, David discusses some info on his current and future applications.

 

When and how did you first get into software development?

I was a self employed artist at the time, and had always thought that game development would be an enjoyable thing to do, allowing me to both be creative and to solve technical problems. So, I started teaching myself how to code when I wasn’t feeling motivated to paint. Within a couple of weeks I couldn’t sleep. My paintings lay unfinished while I coded into the night. It was a whole new world.

 

Out of all of your applications, which is your personal favorite?

DuckDuckDuck actually. Chopper was my first major game and has been well received. However DuckDuckDuck was an original concept that is more peaceful and graphical. The other games and applications I have worked on were fun too, but DuckDuckDuck certainly has my love and attention right now.

 

What are your current favorite apps by other developers?

I use Twinkle and Mobile Fotos all the time. But Fieldrunners is my current favorite game.

 

What are the best and worst parts about your job?

Being self employed, it is fantastic being able to go surfing when it’s up, or work late when I’m in the zone. As far as the actual work goes, I really enjoy the amazing variation in the work I get to do. From designing graphics to recording sounds to marketing and networking. It’s great that it isn’t just coding. On the negative side, sometimes one particular part of the job can bog me down, but I just have to stick in there and get it done.

 

How long does it usually take you to complete large projects such as DuckDuckDuck and Chopper?

It varies a lot. The original version of Chopper for Mac OS X took three months to complete. The iPhone re-write took less time than that as I already had the game concept and assets from the Mac version. The original version of DuckDuckDuck took about two weeks to create, but version 2.0 has taken quite a lot longer. Most of the time tends to go into the polish, and 2.0 has the polish that the first version should have had.

Do you have any ongoing projects at the moment?

I have a couple of Mac projects that have been on hold for a long time now. When the excitement of the iPhone dies down I may return to them. I also have another iPhone game in the works which I will be returning to very shortly. It’s a longer term project and will hopefully be completed early next year. I like to have a few projects on the go in case inspiration stalls on one of them.

 

Can you tell us anything about your next iPhone title, or is it under wraps right now?

It’s about alligators from space… that’s about all I can say about it just yet!


Sounds interesting!  Any plans for a Chopper sequel?

I’m really keen on doing a Chopper sequel at some point. At the moment I’m thinking about what exactly I would want to add in a version 2 and there is no plan to actually start working on it yet.

 

          Lastly, what do you do in your spare time?

I enjoy surfing and playing the guitar, and hope to get back to painting again soon. And of course I play a fair few games for “research purposes”.

 

So that’s the end of our second exclusive interview! There are plans for several more interviews, reviews, and news on our upcoming within the next few weeks, so stay tuned!

– James
No Responses to “Exclusive Interview: Majic Jungle Software”

Leave a Reply

